Question:
Helloo!
A short time ago (within the last month) someone posted about a website that sells DVD Boxsets on the cheap - they were bought from abroad and I think they were Asian releases. You also paid in $US (thus, an overseas site).
Does anyone remember this and what the website was, please? I cannot find it in search.
Thank you!
Answers:
Hi,
It was .
I have used this site a few times.
Pay by Paypal
Only 3 things to watch
1) They may be subject to Customs charges
2) The covers sometimes don't look quite right
3) If a film is at cinema it may be poor quality
PM me for more info
Andy
Answers:
Hi,
It was .
I have used this site a few times.
Pay by Paypal
Only 3 things to watch
1) They may be subject to Customs charges
2) The covers sometimes don't look quite right
3) If a film is at cinema it may be poor quality
PM me for more info
Andy
Hi, Just seen this and noticed how cheap the dvds are, and soe are 'all regions' so i don't neeed a multi region dvd player
Why tho do you need to pay via paypal..does it not take debit/credit cards?
By poor quality do you mean if the film is on release nwo( eg casino Royale) then the dvd is shoddy?
Thank you
Answers:
usually these discs are silver presses from asia.
if the film is currently in the cinemas round the world, then the copy you buy from here will be one of the following.
DVD Screener : black and white sections, scrolling text etc for awards consideration only .
Cam : sound and video from a cinema, usually crowd laughter, people walking infront of the camera etc.
Telesync : video filmed in a cinema on a camcorder, then sound from another source is synched to it. (normally end up with russian subtitles when people are talking in a language other than english) - quality on these often vary from unwatchable, to near vhs quality.
Telecine : digitally encoded straight from the reels, these can vary in quality and depend on the equipment used.
Answers:
are these illegal, i think they are!!!!!
Answers:
there`s also this one
Answers:
Thanks for all the replies!!
I don't think it was any of the sites currently suggested to be honest. I don't think they were bootleg DVDs either (I am not looking for films just released or copied from a camcorder - waste of cash). They seemed to be Asian releases and they did come in 'proper boxes' etc but not the same as a UK release, for example.
Saying that, the website: seems a little familiar (I may well have been there before).
The box sets at this website 'seem' a well made e.g. shows a Star Trek box and it looks well made.
Anyone been to this website before and can advise on quality..?
Thanks!
Answers:
Hi was it this one we have used this some dodgy translations on covers but discs are all ok
Answers:
Hi was it this one we have used this some dodgy translations on covers but discs are all ok
Thanks for this site- just ordered Fantasia and another dvd, including shipping it came to £7.00!
Good rates on US dollar at the mo
they have a box set of 23 disney films for $25, anyone know if it's any good? i played safe and just orderd 2 dvds instead of a box set in case they are rubbish.
Cheers!
Answers:
You do realise that that site is selling totally pirated DVD's?
Answers:
Hi carolannjo,
Yes, I think that's it! Cheers! As long as the discs and video quality are good I'm not really bothered about the covers too much!
I would still like to know if is any good.
Anyone used them? Their prices are good but their Terms and Conditions have been copied directly from eBay!!
I know that doesn't bode well, but I have spoken to one of the companies that you can pay though - moneybooker.com (they are in London and are similar to Paypal) - and it all seems legit (so far as they can tell).
Hmmm? Any experienced users..?
Answers:
Hi carolannjo,
Yes, I think that's it! Cheers! As long as the discs and video quality are good I'm not really bothered about the covers too much!
I would still like to know if is any good.
Anyone used them? Their prices are good but their Terms and Conditions have been copied directly from eBay!!
I know that doesn't bode well, but I have spoken to one of the companies that you can pay though - moneybooker.com (they are in London and are similar to Paypal) - and it all seems legit (so far as they can tell).
Hmmm? Any experienced users..?
Dont buy from there they are cheapo copies even the box sets are crap with loads of spelling mistakes. They are cheap for a reason !!
Answers:
It is very easy to spot they are pirated.
Come on, 23 disney films for $25!! Disney do not release region free DVD's.
Answers:
Hi we have not used the china dvd cd site but have used got the whole South park 10 seasons for $100 which is a great price but my son tells me that the quality on some of the discs is not great. Perhaps one to avoid.
Answers:
No, i didn't.
It wasn't pointed out before, and i didn't see anything on the site saying that. I assumed that as they came from abroad dvds were just cheaper.
Answers:
They're all illegal copies. Easy to spot really - Region 0 which is rarely used by distributors (particularly for big name releases) and the prices are in US$ or GB£ and yet the quickest delivery is to China/Australia. A friend used one of the sites and bought the full collection of Stargate series 1 to 10 for just £100. The box looked and felt superb, really well done, it was even factory sealed. The discs were perfectly printed too and the picture/sound quality was fine. It was only when he started to watch season 10 that it became clear the whole thing was fake - each episode had the 'Sci-Fi' channel logo in the corner, and the adverts were badly edited out.
Fake DVDs are big business in Asia, and more and more are cropping up on eBay all the time. A lot register as UK sellers, accept only PayPal and ship from Hong Kong, others use people actually living in the UK so they can appear more genuine, can accept cheques, etc, but still the same scam.
The crazy thing is that you can probably buy equally good fakes at your local car boot sale or down the pub, for a lot less money.
Answers:
Hmm, think I'll stick to the honest route of film collecting if they're illegal copies. Seems too much like hit-n-miss with quality anyway if I did plump for a box set. Thanks to all!
Answers:
Taken from cddvdforall website. They could be lying of course but the discs we received were top quality. Can only go by what we received up to you really. Would probably not order anything from other site () as some of the discs were not that great approx 4 out of 45 discs were faulty or would not play but they have said they will resend.
TERMS & CONDITIONS
Licensed Products
All CDs and DVDs selling here are licensed release in China (includes Hong Kong and Taiwan) and each title has an unique ISRC number. The contents are same as their original release. The only diffirence is there are some Chinese characters printed in the cover.
We only sell licensed products with top quality. CDs will play on all CD and DVD player. DVDs are Region FREE and NTSC format (Unless state specially in Descriptions), will play on all DVD players. Check the Technical Details on product detail pages before making your order.
All CDs and DVDs selling here are for home use only. By place an order, the purchaser states that products ordered will only be used in a lawful manner.
Answers:
try to google " nicedvder " these again are an asian boxset only site...they seem fairly legit especially the quality of the boxset packageing....the price is pumped up a little with shipping but I presume that is to be expected
Answers:
i have dealt with asian boxsets in the past and i have a realy good relationship with my supplier and if any problems he will sort out. check out this website.
